Gibson Brands Forums

Neck advice please

buzzbob

Hello

I'm an aged guitarist suffering from tendon issues and it isn't much fun. I've returned after a lengthy break and I'm trying to take it easy with the playing to avoid aggravating the condition. Anyway, I have a ES 339 Studio which I really like a lot but still finding it strains my fretting hand and wrist. I was talking to a friend the other day and we came to the conclusion a neck with a narrow nut width but a deeper profile might give me more support. I don't tend to like wide necks but deep necks I feel might work.

I tried a Baja tele a while back and maybe something like that would help but I'd prefer it in 24.75 scale and thought maybe a LP might fit the bill. I'm not rich and if anyone knows of a neck profile on a LP Studio or similar I'd be interested to organise a trip to a music shop for a trial.

Thanks for your help

:)

Hello

I'm an aged guitarist suffering from tendon issues and it isn't much fun. I've returned after a lengthy break and I'm trying to take it easy with the playing to avoid aggravating the condition. Anyway, I have a ES 339 Studio which I really like a lot but still finding it strains my fretting hand and wrist. I was talking to a friend the other day and we came to the conclusion a neck with a narrow nut width but a deeper profile might give me more support. I don't tend to like wide necks but deep necks I feel might work.

I tried a Baja tele a while back and maybe something like that would help but I'd prefer it in 24.75 scale and thought maybe a LP might fit the bill. I'm not rich and if anyone knows of a neck profile on a LP Studio or similar I'd be interested to organise a trip to a music shop for a trial.

Thanks for your help

:)

Good evening, buzzbob.

Happy father's day, if that applies, sir.

Tell me, do you play/practice standing up with the guitar strapped on, or do you sit in a chair?

If it's the chair, exactly what sort of chair?