Gibson Brands Forums

considering buying my first Gibson Les paul - help !

BenDJ89

Hey,

I'm a 27 year old guitarplayer from Belgium/Europe considering buying his first LP, it's a used (!) 1996 les paul studio. Asking price: 650 euros/700 dollars approx.. Everything about it is Original. I just have a few concerns:

the current owner was honest about a crack in the neck, that was fixed professionally years ago, but still..is it something i should take in account?

i have rather small hands, i've been playing for 10 years now, and i play mostly Fender and PRS. Before you say anything, the PRS i got (S2 Mira), has a certain neck profile that is very similar to Fender. It looks chunky, but it's not. I have girly hands lol, i'm ashamed of it, but that's life. But i've Always dreamt of a les paul. A standard is too much for me, since i only gig a few times a year, a studio is more than fine for me. But can i play that chunky, baseball batt like 50's neck it seems to have? i know, "get used to it", but still, small hands and big instrument dont seem logical to me.

Is it worth the buy: for the price, the year (apparently it was a good year), and would it be a good and "different" addition to my current collection: a fender standard strat with YJM fury pickups and a PRS S2 Mira. I dont get to play a lot of Gibsons in my part of the country....small town.

And finally, any advice, encouraging words, comments would be most welcome ! I actually considered buying the lp studio 2015 last year, it was that or my prs s2 mira; And dont get me wrong, i absolutely love my PRS, and i just could not bond with the sound and overall quality and feel of the 2015 model. It just didnt feel like a guitar to me, weird to say i know...But i cannot shake this feeling of: a les paul...yeah !

Thank you

ps: keep in mind, that American instruments are taxed heavier since 2016, i know it shouldnt matter for used guitars, but all the sellers over here follow the trend. Unfortunately...