Gibson Brands Forums

Strings...again!

Dennis G

I know, I know, not another "string" thread.

That said, for a few years I was using Elixir Nano's with Cleartones as a backup. Just for giggles I decided to try something new and went with EB Slinky's. Meh. Then I tried EB Cobalts! Woohoo. Sounded good (brighter and crisper, if you will) and lasted a long time. I'm now out of strings again and looking to buy (I have a lot of guitars, LOL). I've been using D'Addario's on my acoustics forever, but not on elec's. Opinions please on your thoughts (subjective I know) re: longevity, sound, value, etc. BTW, I'm a home only player, and have a variety of p/u's on my guitars (humbucker, P90, single coil, etc). I guess, in short, what do you like and why?

Thanks in advance.

I use D'Addario's on all of my guitars. As a gigging musician, I find them to be very good. They sound great, stay in tune and have reasonable longevity. I use the EXL 115's(.011-.049). I have a Mexican Strat, an Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top Pro and a 1966 Gibson ES-330 which, I guess, covers the gamut of pickup choices(single coil, ProBucker and P-90). My other suggestion is to wipe them off after you play; it really does help the last longer. Good Luck!

I use D'Addarios on my acoustics and either Super Slinky's or Ultra Slinky's on my electrics.

My bass guitar takes RotoSounds.

I gig and play on and off stage a lot throughout the year, and I have never broken a string on stage, even once.

I did have a G string with a manufacturing defect in it, and it broke during installation and tune-up.

I wrote to D'Addario about it, and they sent me a brand new set for free.

I'm happy with these strings.

[mellow]

I know, I know, not another "string" thread.