Gibson Brands Forums

Which strings should I use?

Arima2012

Hello, I have been playing guitar for 2 years but I am still a complete noob when it comes to gear. I own a Gibson Les Paul Gold Top (not sure which model), and have had the stock strings for a really long time now. What strings should I choose to replace my current ones? Thanks.

Hello, I have been playing guitar for 2 years but I am still a complete noob when it comes to gear. I own a Gibson Les Paul Gold Top (not sure which model), and have had the stock strings for a really long time now. What strings should I choose to replace my current ones? Thanks.

It's difficult to give good advice here, because you may hate the stings I love.

It's a very personal thing, best way to find the ones you like is trying lot's of them.

That said, IMHO you can't beat D'addario in terms of price/quality balance. The classic EXL 110 sound great on guitars with humbuckers.

I had some mixed feelings about the NYXL's on Gibson's but they work fantastic on my Strat. I may give em another chance, but this time I'll try it with slightly different pickup height adjustment. Bad thing about them is their price, but the stay fresh longer, both in sound and feel.

Gibson Strings sound nice too but don't last to long. And buying one of those multiset packages I found out that some of the unwound strings were already oxidized when I opened the pack.

Hope this helps.

I will echo what he said. D'Addario XL are a good place to start. They've very good quality, inexpensive, and plentiful. You may find they're perfect for you, or at the very least will drop a pin on a map and then you can go from there. You may want something even brighter, or something more mellow, or smoother on your fingers, etc. That's where the highly personal preferences come forth. Until then, put on a set of XL110 (10-46) and see how you like them.

+1 for XL110s. Been using them for years myself.