Gibson Brands Forums

Dirty fretboard ES 339

Kenny V

I recently picked up a used ES339 with a rosewood fretboard. I noticed after playing it for a while my fingertips were black. I just assumed the strings were cheap and cause this. I changes the strings and put lemon oil on the fretboard. So I started playing the guitar and much to my amazement my finger tips turned black again. So I took a clean cloth and started rubbing the fretboard. The white cloth became black. So obviously the strings were not to blame. The black stuff coming off looks like black shoe polish, but I don't believe it is. I have been playing guitar since 1963 and have owned a lot of guitars over 50 plus years. I have never come across this before. It looks like I'll be taking off the strings and cleaning the heck out of the fretboard. Has anyone ever experienced this and I am open to ways to really clean the fretboard without damaging it. By the way. I own some high end Gibson guitars and I am so impressed with how the Epiphone Es 339 Pro looks, plays and sounds.

Hi Kenny

Perhaps the prev. owner may have never cleaned or treated the fret board. if so, yea, I would expect the fretboard to be a mess.

the best product I've used for conditioning/treating rose wood is this:

Guitar Honey

To apply it, take an old t-shirt, cut it into 6 inch squares, that should be enough for ever... spray some of this stuff on a square, then rub onto the fret board, and let it soak in a bit, this will re-hydrate the rosewood. Go down the entire neck.

Then take another cotton square and buff it dry. you can also use your finger nails, wrapped around the cloth, and get into the fret edges, expect that pass come back black... it will look gross, but you'll get all that grime and gunk off. The rosewood should look much better when done, have a bit of a natural luster to it.

Something you should do routinely maybe once or twice a year anyway.