Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson SG Help to decide!

melpi65

Hi guys,

This is my first topic.

I have the posibitly to buy 1 Gibson SG, "but"....i see it's not in good shape and i don't know who to date it and how much i should pay for it.

Anyway i would like if somebody can help me to date it and to see if at least what it has it's original.

I share pics :)

2_zpstx4r7b05.jpg

6_zpsonsc1xhx.jpg

20151103_114210_zpsn9cwfaa6.jpg

7_zpsvsflzapq.jpg

8_zpslgnrlzel.jpg

4_zpsux7b337o.jpg

5_zpsrijysdix.jpg

I'm no expert, looks like a 70's era. Little rough, as far as finish, a cleaning and a hose down of old English furniture polish with almond oil would help... but that head.... not sure if that's a half a$$ repair job or what... me, I'd need to know more about it or have someone look at it. It may need professional work, and I'd want to know up front.

I just bought a 2016 worn T new for $ 599.00.... no, it's not a standard with a bigsby but really nice guitar.... I'd pass on this myself without knowing for sure what else could be off and what my final cost would be with professional repairs.

How much is it?

I'm no expert, looks like a 70's era. Little rough, as far as finish, a cleaning and a hose down of old English furniture polish with almond oil would help... but that head.... not sure if that's a half a$$ repair job or what... me, I'd need to know more about it or have someone look at it. It may need professional work, and I'd want to know up front.

I just bought a 2016 worn T new for $ 599.00.... no, it's not a standard with a bigsby but really nice guitar.... I'd pass on this myself without knowing for sure what else could be off and what my final cost would be with professional repairs.

How much is it?

It looks like the 1974 Gibson SG on the post below. If you look at that head, it's showing hairline cracks on the head, but this one looks a lot worse... I don't know... perhaps it's not really an issue?

Hi guys,

This is my first topic.