Gibson Brands Forums

Looking for some advice

Duncan OR

First substantial post here; looking for some advice on a guitar upgrade. I realize that the question will seem kind of open-ended, but I'd be grateful for any insights.

First, some background: I've been playing on and off for about 30 years, but with a long hiatus at one point, so let's say effectively 10 years. My current guitar collection contains two Fenders (Mexi-Tele and an American Deluxe Strat), a 1980's-era Yamaha Strat clone that I've owned since new, now somewhat modded, and an Epiphone G-400 SG. Aside from a practice amp I, have a Fender Super Sonic 22W combo amp.

I play a bunch of different stuff, all just for fun with a few friends, but mostly focused on blues with a little rock thrown in.

Here's where I'm looking for advice: I'm considering an upgrade for my Epiphone to a Gibson, originally looking at an SG but also now looking at a potential LP purchase...

First concrete question: the SG I have has a pretty slim neck profile (which I like) but from trying out a few different (mostly used) LPs there are clearly a bunch of different neck profiles. Looking at a few LPs currently for sale on Reverb.com, it's pretty confusing trying to interpret descriptions of neck profiles. Can anybody help here? Is there a standard reference describing the different neck shapes?

More open ended: any particular advice in looking at used LPs? I see quite a few listings on Reverb that look interesting, but it's hard to know how much of a leap in the dark it is buying one effectively unseen. I see quite a few listings with headstock repairs, which I guess is a common issue. Not really sure how big of a deal that is, depending on how well done the repair is. Any thoughts?

Again, I realize this is kind of open-ended, but any thoughts or suggestions to point me in the right direction would be much appreciated.

Hi Duncan,