Gibson Brands Forums

1968 J45 Ebony Rebuild

Blacky

I have a good story about my old J45 that may not be news to the experienced Gibson geek. But it sure surprised me in several ways. I bought this guitar in 1970. The serial number and a few other determining factors, as best I can tell, dates it straight to 1968. The number is 95571 and it had a single layer white screw-on pick guard with no Gibson logo on it like so many I've seen, just the decal on the headstock. It did come with a factory 2nd, number 2 stamped above the serial number on the back of the head stock. I got it cheap, what did I care? I have a ton of pictures that are unavailable at the moment in case anyone cares.

I'm new to this sight but can only imagine people requesting this that and the other thing. Anything needing answers to questions will just have to wait.

I remember as a kid, never being satisfied with this guitar's intonation. I know, I know, none of us are satisfied with the dreaded intonation factor. But this one was hideous! I had it professionally worked on several times. Still never sounded good. I had just sold my early 60's ES335 single P90 arch top. Boy, that thing was magical. So I went from that gem to this Ebony nightmare. As I got older and busier I played less and less until it dwindle to nothing for 30 years. The J45 at one point laid uncased on a gravel floored pole building in Ohio's harsh weather extremes, winter and summer for five years. Basically it was exiled to the woodshed. It was cracked front and back, walked on by my granddaughter and generally kicked to the curb for dead.