Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Les Paul Studio Deluxe III vs Studio T

BryDraws

Hey guys,

New here, looking to purchase my first Les Paul, ideally with a cap of $1000. Looking mostly at the used market now. I'm a hobbyist playing mostly bluesy rock. A little torn between a few models, mainly the 2016 Studio T and the Studio Deluxe III or IV. Would love a Trad Pro but those are pretty out of budget. I really dig that these models have coil-splits and the db boost is a nice perk. But mostly I'm comparing their pickups and I'm finding I'm really digging the more clear sound of 57's vs the 490's which I find a little muddier. Burstbucker Pros sound pretty cool too. I'm still learning the nuances of them all so any input on your experiences with Gibson pickups I'm happy to hear it.

My ideal Les Paul would have:

57's (or similar)

At least some weight relief

Wine Red or Honey Burst

Coil Split (Boost is a plus)

No more then 3-4 years old

Binding would be awesome but probably unrealistic

I know I've got a lot of wants! But may as well aim high. Any input with these models or better ones would be awesome. Thanks a bunch!

Best,

Bryan

If you can try a 2015 model, something like this for example:

https://m.thomann.de/gb/gibson_lp_classic_fb_2015.htm

Due to the unpopularity of the 15 range the prices are insanely low.

If you don't have a problem with wider neck, metal nut, auto tune etc. this may be the perfect option for you.

Coil split, boost and 57 Classic and Classic+.

As a bonus full gloss, binding and hardcase.

• 2 weeks later...