Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Les Paul Studio - Ruby Red!?

Guest Jonathan Beal

Guest Jonathan Beal

Hi guys,

I'm a guitarist from the UK South Coast, and am in possession of a bit of a unique Les Paul Studio (or so I'm lead to believe!), serial 02920612.

I bought this beauty in around 2004 for around £400 ($486) and didn't really think about what sort of Les Paul she was, I just knew from the second I played her that she was incredible.

I guess what I'm looking for is a bit more info on the guitar's background. I'm never going to sell her, but I'm just curious, as all I seem to find out about is the JEM series (which this isn't), and Ruby red LP's with dot markers and buckers or P90's.

If anyone can shed any light, I'd be so grateful!

Kind Thanks,

http://postimg.org/image/43nd3tovb/

http://postimg.org/image/qtmhwt82v

Hi and welcome.

From the Guitar Dater site;

"Your guitar was made at the Nashville Plant, TN, USA on October 18th, 2000. Production Number: 312"

The Studio range was launched in 1983 as a nothing-fancy-but-with-all-the-important-bits series.

Your instrument was built in 2000 (first and fifth digits from the serial number).

The 3/4-sized Crown inlay markers were used on the Studio during 1999 and 2000.

As a general rule full-sized Crown inlays were used from 1990-98 and 2001-on (before 1990 Dot markers were used).

Mr. Bacon, in his book about Les Pauls, says about LP Studio finish options for this period; "Sunburst, Natural or Colours.."

I believe they came with the 490R/498T p'up set. Nashville bridge and regular stop-tail are correct as are Grover 'Kidney-Bean' tuners.

Not much more to say, really. The red finish isn't nearly as common as ebony, obviously, but there are still quite a few out there.

Studios are highly regarded hereabouts. The p'up pairing, for instance, is the same as found on the Les Paul Custom so despite their lower price-point they are still very much a 'proper' Les Paul.

Pip.

Guest Jonathan Beal