Gibson Brands Forums

DBX GoRack

gfa

I'm fairly new to the world of live sound, but wanted to share about an inexpensive piece of gear I acquired. The DBX GoRack sells for a shade under $30 and is about the size of a paperback book. It has auto feedback suppression, compression, 15 or so preset EQ settings, and a "sub-synth" that reproduces the lowest note in the signal an octave lower. Also has a mute button and gain & volume controls. The controls are all easy to use and fairly intuitive. I had my first chance to use the GoRack at a gig this weekend. My system is 1 or 2 (depending on how many of us are there on a particular date) condenser mics into a Carvin AG300 amp, with an extension cabinet when we want it. Amp and cabinet up on stands. Mics are used for all of the instruments (no pickups) and vocals. No monitors. This is kind of a loose application of the "one mic" approach, and I love it. We just lean in, lean out, and play together in a semi-circle, much like we do (unamplified) on jam night back at the house. But, this approach is a bit more feedback prone than the standard live sound rig. Because my mics need phantom power and must go straight into the amp, the GoRack runs on the FX loop of the amp. This gig was about 50-70 people packed into a square room. Birthday party. Three of us on various stringed instruments and vocals. People weren't there for the music, so there was a fair amount of background noise (people talking, eating, drinking).