Gibson Brands Forums

Greetings from Australia.

Seb1968

G'day everyone, hope you are all well.

I am from Sydney, Australia and I only joined this fine forum a few days ago.

With me I am an older beginner (I am 48), and in my younger days I did try to learn the guitar but I made the common error of trying to learn too quickly, which lead to frustration and of course giving up. However in February 2016, I came across an excellent on line guitar teacher on YouTube who gives easy to follow tutorials on how to play the entire rhythm guitar part on well over 40 AC/DC songs. Accordingly I downloaded his lessons, and by practicing on average of 2.5 hours every single day, I can now play (not great), well over 34 AC/DC songs (just the rhythm part, lead guitar is way too hard for me), plus I prefer strumming chords, especially nice juicy power chords.

To be honest, before February 2016, I couldn't play a single song, and now I can play over 30 entire songs, I didn't think I could do it, and when I made the decision to commit myself to learning the guitar, I splashed out on a beautiful Gibson 2016 Les Paul Studio, and I have no regrets in doing so. It's easy to play, it stays in tune, looks good, and I can't put it down. Also, I don't mean to boast here, as there are 10 old kids who can play guitar in their sleep, but I took up the guitar as a hobby and for my own personal reasons.

Here's a pic of my rig when I am practicing

post-83663-023861700 1485402672_thumb.jpg