Gibson Brands Forums

Bridge Identification from a 1982 Gibson Explorer CMT

WadeR

I am trying to find out what type of bridge this is that came on a 1982 Gibson Explorer E2 CMT (see attached pictures). I have seen a few other same era Explorer CMT photos with this bridge and many more with the more common Nashville Tuneomatic. This bridge is not a Nashville or ABR Tuneomatic that I am aware of but its post spacing is the same as a Nashville because I was able to replace the posts in the existing bushings with a TonePros Nashville-style bridge and posts without issue.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Wade

post-83819-090810100 1486912858_thumb.jpg

post-83819-026915500 1486912868_thumb.jpg

post-83819-050535600 1486912887_thumb.jpg

post-83819-017317200 1486912897_thumb.jpg

post-83819-084959200 1486912903_thumb.jpg

Yeah, I've been fiddling with guitars for 27 years and this is the first time I saw one of these. I researched this on the Internet not knowing what its called (named) but when I was looking through image searches, I did see a few other early 1980s Gibson Explorer E2 CMT models with the same bridge but most has a standard Nashville-style bridge. I believe that all of these came originally with the TP-6 tailpiece, but it's this weird bridge I would like to know more about. I was also thinking that maybe it's an old aftermarket bridge until I saw a few other Explorer CMT guitars with the same bridge. I inspected the bridge very, very closely and I cannot find any markings, hallmarks, stamps, or writing of any kind anywhere on, in, under the bridge.

From inspecting the bridge, it seems that intonation is adjusted two ways:

1. The coarse intonation is adjusted by the placement of the bridge itself onto its posts using one of the three post holes on either side - which may be even or offset in either direction. This is kind of interesting.