Gibson Guitar Board: New to this forum but not the guitars - Gibson Guitar Board

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

New to this forum but not the guitars

#1 User is offline   WadeR 

• Explorer state of mind
  • Group: Members
  • LocationAustin, TX Area

Posted 12 February 2017 - 10:18 AM

Hello Everyone! I am new to the forums but not the guitars. I've been playing for over 27 years, mostly gravitating to Les Paul style guitars until a couple of years ago I've been on an Explorer kick that has no end in sight. Most people that know me wonder why I've only recent got into Explorers since I have gained major guitar inspiration from James Hetfield, a well-known Explorer player. Not sure why I stayed away from them for so long, but I love Explorers right now! (and LPs and some SGs too)

Anyway, I am a hobbyist player and tinkerer for a very long time. Nothing gets rid of the stresses of life than playing powerful tones on a great guitar and amp! I also enjoy working on guitars from set ups, some repairs, mods. In the last few years, this aspect of my interest has been growing. I would love to build guitars when I retire from the software development game. But these two aspects of guitars - playing and technical work on them (and amp rigs and switching too) helps me to satisfy my creative and logical needs.

Thanks,
Wade

#2 User is offline   Retired 

• The Ham bone is connected to the ........
  • LocationUSA

Posted 12 February 2017 - 06:59 PM

Welcome to the forum Wade. Posted Image I think you may enjoy it here and their is a member here that builds his own guitars.
Herman

#3 User is online   Megafrog 

• Advanced Member
  • LocationSouthern Pennsylvania

Posted 12 February 2017 - 09:24 PM

Welcome to the forum and explore® away, pun intended.

#4 User is online   tx-ogre 

• My Guitar Wants to Kill Your Mama
  • LocationJoe's Garage

Posted 13 February 2017 - 08:53 AM