Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson/epiphone hummingbird frankenstein

NewBirdDude

Hey guys. I'm a regular on a couple of other guitar forums but its my first time posting here. I think I found a guitar that I'm really considering putting a modest offer on. The seller has the item listed as a Gibson hummingbird neck with an Epiphone humingbird body. Before you read on, It seems that there is a good possibility that its a fake but I may still be open to paying used Epiphone price for this guitar.

From the pictures, the neck actually looks more like a songwriter neck. The picture of the back of the headstock is too blurry to identify a SN. If there is no SN, I'll have to assume it's fake. Although the inlays look like real pearl (they seem more reflective than pearloid).

Next we get really strange. The body finish looks more like the current epiphone bodies but the sticker in the soundhole says gibson. Although the serial number on the sticker corresponds to an epiphone made in Quingdao. Has anyone ever seen an Epiphone body with a Gibson sticker or should we assume this is also fake? or possibly a real hummingbird body?

I'm considering making a pretty modest offer in spite of all its strange short-commings; a little more in the price range of a used epiphone hummingbird. I've also placed this in the epiphone acoustic board; it seems like this guitar may bridge the gap.

s_l1600_4.jpg

s_l1600_3.jpg

s_l1600_2.jpg

s_l1600_1.jpg

That “W” on the pickguard looked familiar - recalling now, and re-finding the listing:

"Guitar body was damaged so I had the local store switch the body…

Might just be a matter of word choice, but if you were to undertake a repair such as a body swap (neck swap), you’d probably be familiar with the term “luthier”. More likely a wannabe G owner on a budget who decided to make a Gibson Hummingbird out of an Epiphone, but had a change of heart. Or conscience.