Gibson Brands Forums

New Member and New Gibson owner from Montreal

Brando75

Hello all! I'm new to the forum and also I am a brand new owner of a Gibson Les Paul traditional 2016. I've been playing Fender for many years, I've never played or owned a Gibson. Now that I have one, I am taken in by the Gibson mystique. However, I have some minor issues that I need some answers from Gibson owners. Staying in tune. I guess with a proper set up this will eliminate the issue? Secondly there is a slight imperfection on the fret board(16th fret 12th) fret and thirdly, there is a paper thin sliver of glue residue or something on the nut. It's peeling off. I've had the guitar in my possession for less than a week. Are these normal for Gibson? Should I get a refund? It's a cherry burst and the only one left is a desert burst. I've included two photos. Cheers!

Welcome Brando. Someone more qualified with Gibsons should come on and answer your questions shortly. I have a 2007 Gold Top and love every bit of it. It's still like New condition. However I have heard of a few with complaints on some newer models.

Welcome to the board. Gibsons are definitely a bit different in build than Fenders and in my opinion many have unique character differences. I have a custom shop from 2013 that has a tuner that has a slight variance in length from the other 5 tuners. It looks weird from the back of the headstock but the guitar plays and sounds like a dream. I have a 2016 SG faded that has some glue on the nut on the sides of it but it doesn't impact functionality, only looks if I look really hard for a flaw.