Gibson Brands Forums

Need a little computer advice

Hall

Joe Novice here. Mozilla/FireFox is ending support for primitive Vista users such as myself. Seems a shame to bury a perfectly good working machine just to keep up with the Joneses, etc. 1. Do any other browser options exist ? Can I buy Windows 10 and download? Just looking for a little advice before I go out in the light. Thanks.

you could try Chrome (Google's browser)

I think you can DL Windows 10 updates,, for a while they were doing XP to Win 10 updates for no charge, but that ended sometime ago.

I'm not sure there's a solid upgrade path tho for Vista to Win10. you could windup with a pretty f'd up PC.... some thing to be wary of...

Joe Novice here. Mozilla/FireFox is ending support for primitive Vista users such as myself. Seems a shame to bury a perfectly good working machine just to keep up with the Joneses, etc. 1. Do any other browser options exist ? Can I buy Windows 10 and download? Just looking for a little advice before I go out in the light. Thanks.

What they mean is that they will no longer support Vista because XP and Vista is end of life, according to Microsoft. That doesn't mean that they won't work. What it means is that they will no longer provide security or other upgrades for that platform. Google Chrome is another option but I'm fairly certain they have the same policy towards Vista.

The only other browser I'm aware of that provides updates for Vista is the Opera browser. http://www.opera.com/blogs/desktop/2016/08/security-update-windows-xp-vista-users/

As far as buying Windows 10 and installing it, that's a whole other experience. What you would have to do is back up your computer or get someone to back it up for you. Then purchase Windows 10 and do a clean install. But, if you're a novice computer user, I wouldn't recommend going that option because it's time consuming and if your computer is an older Core2Duo computer or older, with 2 GB of RAM, it will be painfully slow.