Gibson Brands Forums

Rig Rundown - Bon Jovi's John Shanks, Phil X, and Hugh McDonald

Rabs

I started watching this, listening to John Shanks talk and show his rack and everything and I got pretty confused. I'm not a pro player at his level, nor a studio engineer nor have I played venues as large as they have. My largest was probably around 2,500 people. I kept thinking this as I was watching the first part of the video, "Why does he need all this stuff?" I went on the road with a stack, 4 or 5 pedals (I guess they're calling them stomp boxes these days) and that was my tone which varied slightly from song to song, or parts of songs. The rest was amp tone, guitar volume/tone, amp volume/tone. A little reverb, a little chorus and a Crybaby pedal. I had an EQ, Noise Gate and Compressor but I just rarely used them.

What do others use? Am I too old school? A Gibson V into a Randall stack is what I used. I have a Marshall combo now and a little Fender Mustang amp but my Randall had the sound and the power to play the kind of music I played. I'd do a quick adjustment on the amp or guitar between songs to get that sound I wanted for the song, if I needed to change it but that wasn't often.

I'd be interested in hearing what others use. I'd certainly be all kinds of lost with that much equipment to try to figure out and keep track of. I'd end up hitting a button and making my guitar sound like a chicken or something. My only complaint from sound guys back in the day was volume, as in too much.

I'm sure it's amazing but, sorry, Rabs; a youtube clip lasting one-and-a-half hours is an instant 'Off' hereabouts.

Hope others have the time to have fun!

msp_thumbup.gif

I'll be sure to check in to see any comments left here from those who manage the marathon.

Pip.

I'm sure it's amazing but, sorry, Rabs; a youtube clip lasting one-and-a-half hours is an instant 'Off' hereabouts.

Hope others have the time to have fun!

msp_thumbup.gif