Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Special II compared to Les Paul Special II-LTD

tonygoode

I am trying to decide which to buy. I was a very amateur player 40 years ago, so essentially I am now a beginner again.

From the epiphonewiki Les_Paul_Special site the primary differences there are the Special II has a Mahogany 1960's Slim Taper "D" profile neck, 700T/650R Open Coil humbucker pickups, and a Basswood or Mahogany/Alder Laminated body, and the Special II-LTD ha a Maple Les Paul Special profile neck, Open Coil 700T/650T humbucker pickups, and solid Alder body.

Any other major physical differences?

Is there any significant difference in the 650T versus 650R humbucker pickup sound or quality?

Any playing, sounding, tuning, etc., differences?

P.S. What is the difference in the necks? I have found conflicting descriptions and don't know which are correct.

I am trying to decide which to buy. I was a very amateur player 40 years ago, so essentially I am now a beginner again.

From the epiphonewiki Les_Paul_Special site the primary differences there are the Special II has a Mahogany 1960's Slim Taper "D" profile neck, 700T/650R Open Coil humbucker pickups, and a Basswood or Mahogany/Alder Laminated body, and the Special II-LTD ha a Maple Les Paul Special profile neck, Open Coil 700T/650T humbucker pickups, and solid Alder body.

Is there any significant difference in the 650T versus 650R humbucker pickup sound or quality?

P.S. What is the difference in the necks? I have found conflicting descriptions and don't know which are correct.