Gibson Brands Forums

NGD

Guitar God

Have a birthday coming up on the 13th and my dad ordered this for me for an early birthday gift. Had my eye on this on Reverb.com for a good while. It was listed for a hair over a year. It is a 1999 Martin DXMAE acoustic electric. USA made model. Not Mexican made like these models are today. I have always wanted a Martin for as long as I can remember. Been much since I started playing, so I finally got one. [biggrin] $400 plus shipping. Pretty great deal for a USA Martin is you ask me regardless of the model.It plays and sounds wonderful as any Martin.Feels really great. Does need new strings, which I have ready to go for it. I think the electronics may be a passive system, because I didn't see a battery compartment, but I'll look when I restring it. Though, I don't have an acoustic amp, I did plug it up briefly to my Fender Hot Rod DeVille on the clean side just to make sure the electronics work and they do. It in wonderful shape. Mint with the exception a couple extremely minor scuffs that you wouldn't notice if it wasn't pointed out. Very happy with this guitar! Anyway, here is a pic.

E1S1CSG.jpg

Congratulations - better watch it, Martins can be hazardous to your bank account.

Thanks! I know, haha. But this one is a 1999 USA DXM acoustic/electric. Before they started making this particular series in Mexico. I think I did well for a $400 made in USA Martin. Everything is straight up on it, too. [biggrin]

What RCT means is that soon you'll be collecting Martins.

Worse things could happen.

P.S.

If you get a chance, take the factory tour in Nazareth, PA. It's a lot of fun.

Oh, ok. That would be cool. I assume you have been? How was it other than fun, haha?

American Martin is always a wise choice.