Gibson Brands Forums

Decisions, decisions....

Mkeane

Hello everybody,

I'm brand new to this forum, but already enjoying it. I have decided to finally upgrade from the off brand stratocaster I learned to play on to a Gibson. When I feel eat started looking, I was dead set on a les Paul studio goldtop. After multiple trips to local music stores and guitar centers, the SG felt and sounded better than the rest.

I have decided to go the "used" route due to my budget and have been scouring Craigslist. After some research on SGs and am worried about purchasing a "fake". I am currently on the fence with a 2005 sg standard and a 2016 sg standard. The 2016 is almost new and going for $800 and the 2005 is going for $700. I'll post the ads I'm looking at below. Any comments or suggestions would help me immensely!!!

https://sfbay.craigslist.org/scz/msg/6061321499.html

https://sacramento.craigslist.org/msg/6070281366.html

They both look real to me (although I am no SG expert). The 2005 says it has Seymour Duncan JB pickups which may sound great, but are not the stock pickups that an SG comes with. So if you have played a few with the stock pickups, this one may sound quite a bit different than you are expecting.

If there is a chance you can go and play them (not sure how far you are from the sellers) that would be best, then you could better judge which one fits you better.

But either looks to be in good condition and reasonably priced.

They both look real to me (although I am no SG expert). The 2005 says it has Seymour Duncan JB pickups which may sound great, but are not the stock pickups that an SG comes with. So if you have played a few with the stock pickups, this one may sound quite a bit different than you are expecting.

If there is a chance you can go and play them (not sure how far you are from the sellers) that would be best, then you could better judge which one fits you better.

^^^^^^

That

Thank you! Really appreciate the advice.