Gibson Brands Forums

Paradigm strings odyssey...an ongoing report

Jinder

Hi all,

I've been suckered in by the hype and have bought a set of Ernie Ball Paradigm acoustic strings...the ones they claim are the toughest ever made and guarantee for 90 days against tarnish or breakage.

I play for a living and 90 days equates to about 70hrs of playtime for me. These strings will have to be some sort of miracle wires to withstand 70hrs without failing! I usually use D'Addario 12-54 85/15s and change them every two to three gigs.

I went for the 80/20 Paradigms and was pleasantly surprised by the lavish packaging and quality of the strings-the plain strings have a bronze wrap wire around the ball end windings which is a nice touch and will be kinder on bridge plates and pins, too. They were hella pricey £18.99 a set!) so they need to be something special.

I've just strung up my SJ200 and am off to play the first of four gigs I have coming up in the next three days...I'll report back on the longevity but first impressions are that these are very sweet sounding strings. A bit less sizzle than a fresh set of D'Addarios but of course these are 80/20 not 85/15. I expected the extra tensile strength to come with a tradeoff of tone loss, but they certainly sound lovely at this stage.

Well gig #1 is done...really nice plugged in tone from these strings with the Aura Ellipse system in the SJ200.

As expected, they sound and play just the same now as this morning when I put them on. They're not quite as bass-heavy plugged in as the D'Addarios but that's no bad thing-they sound very natural without the hyped bass.