Gibson Brands Forums

Studying Guitar Addiction Syndrome

sparquelito

Hey guys and gals,

The topic came up on the Telecaster boards yesterday, and it got me to thinking.

From the nature of many of our posts (and guitar buying habits) many of us are addicted to acquiring guitars and amps and miscellaneous guitar-related kit.

We often make light of it, and support each other, as a community of guitar owners and players.

All kidding aside, many of us truly do suffer from a powerful addiction of sorts.

For some women it's shoes.

Some guys, it's motorcycles or guns.

A lot of men and women are addicted to alcohol or other substances.

And then there's gambling.

For us it's guitars and amplifiers. And pedals even.

I am a lifelong student of human psychology, and have actually devised objective, scientific survey instruments in support of credible studies.

In one case I was the study director of a major US Army study of technicians and operators (Warrant Officers), and in another I was the lead survey developer and data collector of a Department of Justice study conducted out of a nearby University.

I'm tempted to put a survey together, on the very topic of guitar addiction, and ask for volunteers to take the survey and then return the responses to me. If I get enough participation, I could build up a data set based on a credible sample size, and maybe even arrive at some conclusions worth pondering.

I would offer it up here on the Gibson boards, on the Telecaster forum, and on the two guitar websites where I am also a moderator.

Anybody interested in participating, if I undertake that effort?

Just running it up the flagpole to see if anybody nibbles on the idea.

:mellow:

il_570xN.1206463245_y1wj.jpg

If "our" collective guitar syndrome is named then it follows someone will espouse a"cure" and promote some special ribbon color we can display.