Gibson Brands Forums

EVH with...

AndyK

Now how did Eddie ever perform his signature dive bombs with a stop bar and a regular bridge???

Ooooh the humanity! LOL!

OTOH, as a conversation point... not that I'm an expert, but I don't think I have ever seen a pic with EVH performing with a les paul.

Btw.. loved the black box clip with Lester. such a great entertainer. they don't make em like that anymore.

OTOH, as a conversation point... not that I'm an expert, but I don't think I have ever seen a pic with EVH performing with a les paul.

That is surprising. There are lots of pics out there. He used the LP a lot in the early days. He was, after all, an admitted Clapton freak. His earlier band Mammoth would perform whole cream albums note for note (reportedly).

Anyway... some pics...

big_guitarist_edward_van_halen_1959_gibson_les_paul_standard_guitar_1980_live.jpg

3799329657_e979089afe.jpg

3bc0ec45dd9f2c5ef4c59c626db27cc4.jpg

12301302_1033045750082373_185348403_n.jpg

f5bcdeee1a43e108ce02eb28ae0ceb10.jpg

It doesn't matter what that guy uses. He is in complete command of the instrument, comfortable being himself with a guitar. What he does as a band member, did anyway, is what guitar players should strive for. Not the tapping and wang bar and horse whinnies and elephant trumpeting. The ease, the sense of humor, expecting the others to do their part as you do yours, harmonize and don't miss your parts, make it look easy and like you are having a ball. He is truly a pleasure to watch play, and the time I was lucky enough to spend a couple hours around him he was just the nicest guy. I try as hard as I can to be as he is, not playing wise because I'm just not that way, but being as he is. We agreed on two main things, never tire of practice and never tire of playing the same songs. They are why anybody at all is sitting front of you and they are why you get to do what you get to do.

rct,