Gibson Brands Forums

Questions

theflyingturtle

I posted yesterday that I am just getting into Reverb and a whole new world of guitars seems to have opened up for me. Then I saw this LG-2 on Reverb where the seller claims that it is the first "banner year" LG-2 ever made! If the seller's claim is true I think that is one super cool guitar but this isn't about this guitar exactly. Here's what I would like to know:

1. In the vintage guitar market, does the fact that this guitar seems somewhat notable matter enough to justify the premium.

2. Is this guitar legit and how would I go about verifying the seller's claim?

Basically, if you were interested in this guitar, what strategies would you use to do your homework about this guitar or how would you proceed? I am guessing a call to the seller, a call to Gibson, and then post it to the forum to get confirmation from you fine folks? I bought nearly every guitar I own on CL so buying a used guitar is something I am familiar with but the vintage realm is not something I am familiar with. Here's the link: https://reverb.com/item/5666161-vintage-1942-gibson-banner-lg-2-acoustic-guitar-first-ever-lg-2-first-banner-adirondack-top

The responsibility of proving that it is the 1st LG-2 should fall on the seller; maybe an appraisal by G. Gruhn- something that might be able to be done with the supplied photos. More to it than just saying that the f.o.n. shown “makes it the first”. Record keeping not exactly a strong suit for Gibson in those days, especially during the war.