Gibson Brands Forums

HELLO

Wild Bill 212

Hello, I've not been the best at introducing myself, BUT...here goes...I've been playing guitars since I was 9 or 10 yrs. old but never took a single lesson.I sure do wish there were things that somone could have told me that took years to figure out, but are very very simple. I had one main guitar for years, MY BUDDY 'ANGUS': A 1979 SG STANDARD that I just sold, along with a few POS that I did not care much for. My #2 was a 1994 NIGHTHAWK STANDARD ST 3 Pickup model I got in 2004 that was almost new when I got it and it took a horrendous beating as I dragged it around the planet for near 15 years. I played it till the frets were so dented it was unplayable.Then, I was offered $250 for it by a Major Retailer and at that point I would have rather smashed it to pieces than let them have it for $250, SO I DID A COMPLETE 22 FRET RE-FRET/NUT JOB ON IT MYSELF. From what I had learned from an Old Pro Luthier over the course of about 5 years from '78-'83 I was able to get the entire fingerboard refretted and a new NUT on it and set up to GIBSON Specs. and the Guitar is once again 100% playable. However I could not do the binding on it as that is just a little past my talent level. Personally, in my defense, I do not know anyone that could put a binding a guitar neck.