Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson J-35 Long Saddle Mod Opinions

Oscar Paco

First, a quick introduction. I'm a long time lurker but first time poster. I am new to Gibson guitars. Most of my guitars up until now have been Martin, Larrivee, and Guild. I wasn't bitten by the Gibson bug until I played a NOS 2013 J-35 in a local shop a few months ago. This guitar is now my favourite guitar. I wrote my son's name on the back with a ball-point pen just to make sure I don't ever do something crazy like sell it. My son's birth year is the same as the guitar (2013) and I intend for him to own it one day.

I removed the Baggs Element and used some brown shoe polish to make the tuning buttons a gorgeous cream colour. In an effort to further "vintage-ize" the guitar I am considering having a local pro install a long bone saddle. It needs a new saddle anyhow, or at least a shim, since I took out the UST.

Does anyone have any experience with this type of modification? Could it be easily routed out to accommodate a long saddle, to achieve the look of a vintage J-35? I will also have him slot the bridge and fit un-slotted bone pins.

Oh, I also replaced the pickguard because I find Gibson's modern firestripe guards to be very unattractive.

I've read a lot about replacing nuts, saddles, pins, etc on Gibson slopes, but haven't read anything about fitting a long saddle.

Looking forward to the discussion and I will follow up with any updates.

Hi, and welcome to the forum!

Some vintage J-35s actually had drop in saddles. See this link as an example:

http://www.j-35.com/j-35-registry/4659G-17DarioRonco.html

So in this regard your reissue is vintage correct. The most obvious cosmetic errors on the modern J-35 are the banner logo and the pickguard, in my opinion. As for the best reissue pickguards, go here: http://www.firestripepickguards.com

Congratulations on a great guitar!

Lars