Gibson Brands Forums

A change in string gauge and tuning

Pesh

Hi all.

I'm currently using 10-46 strings at the moment with a wound 3rd, but I'm considering going up to an 11-49, again with the wound 3rd.

At the same time; I'm looking to start experimenting with some playing in D-standard tuning next time I set up one.

Aside from the nut adjustments and such; can anyone advise if this setup would be problematic, or countered by simple adjustments to the tailpiece height to find the right string tension...? This is not something I've messed with before, so I'm in the dark.

Personal opinion (and I'm no expert) is other than a possible nut adjustment, you should be okay going from 10's to 11's; maybe a truss rod nudge.

That said, just google dan erlewine, he's got several "must have" books on guitar repair/setup.

The bigger strings will add tension and compensate for the downtuning so that should be good

As Dennis said you might need to change the nut and/or saddle slots. That's not a permanent modification but it is harder to go back to smaller strings after you alter the nut and saddle so that's more of a modification that you would do if you are planning on keeping the guitar set up that way.

Other than that just a little intonation adjustment may be necessary

You didnt mention what type of Gtr your changing,,some necks can hold up better to larger strings than others. I "sightline" all my gtrs necks every month to see what the truss rod/fretboard/neck alignment looks like. If it needs anything Ill tweak it.

You didnt mention what type of Gtr your changing,,some necks can hold up better to larger strings than others. I "sightline" all my gtrs necks every month to see what the truss rod/fretboard/neck alignment looks like. If it needs anything Ill tweak it.

Ah! Well-spotted sir, and how forgetful of me. It's a Gibson USA Les Paul, so the usual expectations on scale length and construction, etc.