Gibson Brands Forums

Okay, I think I don't like Les Pauls!

theflyingturtle

• Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It sounds like semantics and hyperbole to me. I read a lot of "Yay Gibson" but very little that I can quantify in musical terms. It's all forest for the trees to me.

Ok.

Don't take anything I say the wrong way. It is offered with an olive branch that has a dove sitting on it.

By your own admission you are figuring this out, don't know what you are doing, and haven't gotten the hang of Les Pauls yet, and you are valiantly trying to.

I definitely get that.

I have been playing since 1971. I've owned and gigged more than a couple dozen Les Pauls. I remember when we laughed at Love Rocks, when they were new, long before they assumed the mantle of legend that somebody, somewhere, sometime in the 90's assigned to them as they tried their dangdest to sell them as vintage "lawsuit" guitars.

They weren't. They sucked as much as Ibanez, Kent, Degas, and countless other copies that I can't name any more but I remember them.

So you can call it hyperbole, I'm ok with that too. If you want people with experience that can steer you away from fairly common mistakes I'm even better with that.

A Les Paul is pretty heavy, mahogany on the back, maple on the top, usually some nice paint, decent tuners, and whatever good pickups Gibson is putting in them at the moment, today you really can't go wrong with anything they are shipping them with. After that, getting a decent sound out of one plugged into a decent amp at decent volume is pretty easy, and if you are unable to do that you need to practice a bit more until you can.

There is no way a Tokai is going to deliver anything like a Les Paul experience, and trust me on this, for as long as you own it and try to use it with other guitar players you will spend inordinate amounts of time explaining how great it is to people who know, or that the very least believe deeply, that it ain't that great.