Gibson Brands Forums

Okay, I think I don't like Les Pauls!

theflyingturtle

So I have been shopping for a Les Paul for a few months and so far I have come up dry. I've tried guitar after guitar and for some reason when I pick them up and play them I am not connecting. I honestly have found them forgettable. Now I didn't come here to bash Gibson or complain about quality control or anything like that. I just want to say that I keep picking them up and then I put them down and walk away with no interest at all. I thought I wanted a LP. In fact I've wanted one real bad but the experience and the guitars are not intuitively compelling to me. So where should I go? For those of you that have spent time with multiple Gibson electrics, what should I try next? SG? A flying V? I really have a slot open for a short scale electric guitar with humbuckers and no matter what I do I can't seem to bond with Les Pauls. It's very, very frustrating. It is considered by many to be the best guitar in the world. Why don't I like it?

• Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Why don't I like it?

this is the question you must answer before moving on, imo. what is your current, or fav number 1?. is it a hss strat? semi-hollow? do you like lite weight or heavy solids?

what kinda music you playin? on blind reccomendation i would say try an sg std or a 335. the sg is light weight, but still rocks. has good upper fret access. the 335 is a bit nerdy-lookin, but is actually the rockinest guitar ever made in the history of guitars. alot of folks don't like the big body on it though.

a weight relieved explorer is a nice guitar, and are very well balanced. great upper fret access too. the drawback with those is, the case is big enough to use as a raft in a flood.

Which type of LPs have you tried?