Gibson Brands Forums

Adivce on true.fake Hummingbird

groseiille

Hello everyone,

I would like to get your advice on this nice Gibson Hummingbird I would like to purchase.

This is a second hand guitar from 2005, I asked for some more pictures to determine if this is a scam or not (I can buy it for a rather fair price).

Since I am not an expert at all and this would be my first Gibson acoustic (I am mostly a Martin player), I would love to have your opinion on it.

I asked for some more pictures of the headstock, back and serial number.

Here are the few pictures I have at the moment, I will update it as soon as I receive the new ones.

Best regards,

L.

post-87160-024102700 1504600952_thumb.jpg

post-87160-003946800 1504600958_thumb.jpg

Looks real enough to me!

What makes you think it could be fake? Or is it just general nervousness? Make sure you follow some procedure, like meeting at a busy place, even a ..gulp, cop shop...to exchange cash. If it is online, make sure you can get a return policy and refund if you are unhappy. Could even be better to buy from a well known dealer for your first Gibson buy.....

BluesKing777.

Pickguard looks off to me. Could well be a replacement but it's definitely not a genuine 'guard. I would insist on pics of the back of the headstock and serial number.

In my experience, if a deal seems too good to be true, it's because it is...tread carefully.