Gibson Brands Forums

Help with my Firt Epi Purchase

Roostercat

Greetings!

I am looking for some advice (this is also my first post). I have been playing guitar off and on for about 7 years but over the last 6 months I have been glued to my guitars as our little one is old enough not to require constant supervision and life has allowed me to spend MUCH more time with my guitars. I consider myself an intermediate player or maybe an advanced beginner, it's always been hard to categorize. I have owned 5 guitars but the two I have spent the most time on the last 5 years are my Fender Sonoran acoustic and my Squier 1950s Classic Vibe Telecaster (which I absolutely LOVE). I have a few friends who are all in the exact same position that I am in, and luckily one plays drums, the other bass, and the other sings and plays keyboard. And then there is me. We all want to start jamming, and our goal is to start doing gigs within a year or two.

I was hell bent on getting a new Mexican Strat as my first "name brand" big spending purchase, however, after playing I noticed a lot of the same sounds that I get from my tele and I have no intentions on getting rid of the tele. I am using a fender mustang 1 amp and am very good with the settings and effects ( i plan on upgrading it to the mustang 2 or the marshall equivalent). So I started looking for a different style of guitar.

My main goal is to get a completely different sound than what my 50s tele offers (it has alnico 5 pickups). My favorite guitarists are Slash, Page, Perry, Clapton, Young, etc. (you know where I'm going with that). I was looking into a $400 used Epi LP Standard Plus Pro (which I thought was pricey but was in decent shape), but did not like the red wine color as much as the vintage burst. I looked into the cheaper ESP LTD eclipse, but prefer the actual LPs.