Gibson Guitar Board: 2015 Gibson ES-335 - Speedbump frets when sliding - Gibson Guitar Board

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2015 Gibson ES-335 - Speedbump frets when sliding

#1 User is offline   timmilesmusic 

• Group: Members

Posted 11 October 2017 - 12:00 AM

Hello all,

I have a question. I am new to the ES-335 and have been used to Fenders my whole life and acoustics. I have noticed with my 2015 ES-335 that when I slide, especially on the G,B,E higher strings It feels like my fingers continuously hit the frets. I have seen it described as "Speed bumps" and it generally makes sliding quite difficult. What could be causing this? Is it simply poor technique? or does it sound as though it could be something more?

While on the subject of frets, I also get a scraping type sound when bending as the strings rub along the fret. The guitar is a 2015 and was recently set up and the tech said all looked okay. I am starting to wonder if I need a new tech. Strings on it are Elixirs, been on there about 2 months and don't show any sign of rusting. Any advice? Thanks!

#2 User is offline   kaicho8888 

• Advanced Member
  • LocationCity of Rock'n Roll San Francisco

Posted 11 October 2017 - 02:01 AM

If you are used to Fenders, speed bumps on Gibson could be due to the differing frets. Fenders are fatter vs thinner Gibson frets.

Gritty or sandy frets when bending...you need to polish your frets. Quick fix, you can use 600 sandpaper then Mother's Mag polish. Use painter's blue tape to protect the fretboard or a fret protector.

Posted Image
Old Rockers never die; we just fade away! 会長

#3 User is offline   Versatile 

• Advanced Member
  • LocationUK

Posted 11 October 2017 - 02:07 AM

Hi t-m-m.....and welcome to the forums.....[thumbup]

The issues described sound slightly vague unless they can be observed in person....

Fret height and fingerboard radius will play a part.....Gibson vs Fender....