Gibson Brands Forums

Memphis Factory

badbluesplayer

despite the down size it looks like production isnt affected. Thats the main thing I suppose.

Its sad that Gibson couldnt justify the groundrent/rates/whateveritis in USA, by continuing shows at Beale St.

i'm no expert, but i am guessing that someone realized the "entertainment facility" wasn't being utilized. their next thought was "if we dump it, we can move production into a pole barn for far less money. then we can sell the prime real estate for profit."

Whats more interesting is that they're in $520 million debt so moving out of this $17 million facility is just scratching the surface. I'm interested to see what the next few years hold for their product line. Moody's has downgraded their credit rating as well so borrowing will only get more expensive for them

It’s clear that Gibson have a problem with the product, management and it’s public perception. I rarely see anything positive about them any more. When you see 10 models of the same guitar but have a price difference of $4k or more. Something is wrong. The greed that must be in the board room. I’d love to know what the management take for themselves. In my own opinion. I think a new owner is needed and Gibson needs reinventing with the guitar playing public being involved. The headstock needs sorting on the Les Paul, so perhaps the custom shop should carry on with less stupid models and the USA line be reinvented. Perhaps change the head angle? But whatever happens, quality has to improve or they will go under,

It's all a bit sad, but there's surely still strength in the brand name so maybe a wealthy Russian or Chinese or whoever might pick themselves up a bargain next year and breathe some dollars and direction into the business. I hope so anyway. [unsure]

...or we'll all have to move to some damned ukulele board!