Gibson Brands Forums

ES-336 1996

Timothy785

Hi All,

This is my first post on this Forum. As of last Saturday I'm the proud owner of my first Gibson guitar.

It's an ES-336 from 1996 in a sunburst finish. It has the snakehead headstock and is an extremely good condition. Even the case is nearly new.

I bought it, as I think is normal for a vintage guitar, secondhand. I got it checked and everything was ok. The 57 classics were both perfect and the wood, neck, nut and fretting was as new.

The paperwork was ok aswel.

However, you can never be to careful. I'm a student and paid for this with my savings so I would like that my investment is a good one.

Does anyone of you know something about the 'guaranteed orange sticker' in the guitar? Mine is missing. It's a custom shop model and I've been told that these people were not very consistent with everything.

When you look on reverb.com, you can clearly see an ES-336 from the same year (1996) with such a sticker inside of the F-hole. Mine however doesn't have one. Is it maybe due to the color because this one was a cherry one, mine is sunburst. I've send an email to Gibson to verify my serial, I just have to upload some pictures now.

I hope someone can help me out. I'm quite the novice to this. Especially because it's my first higher-end guitar and I always wanted to own a Gibson as my first REAL BEAST.

Thank you very much in advance!

Greets from Belgium,

Timo

post-88539-084319600 1510140007_thumb.jpg

post-88539-023508000 1510140077_thumb.jpg

Guest Farnsbarns

Investment? If you're hoping the value goes up faster than inflation in think you'll be disappointed.

96 isn't vintage, it's second hand. It's unlikely that value will increase much from where we are. They're currently high and coming down.

It is, however, a beautiful guitar which should be played and enjoyed.

• 2 weeks later...