Gibson Brands Forums

Coil-splitting on a G400 and other things...

CherryRedRocker

I have an Epiphone G400 Faded ('16 or '17 model), and since my uncle's coming from the US of A in January, I'm thinking of getting some upgrades for it. Nothing too expensive, since I'm still a beginner ($150 hence, is a very optimistic budget).

I'm thinking of getting a strap for ~$35, and for the pickups, I'm looking to split them. Is this worthwhile? What other upgrades could I fit into my budget? No nut upgrades please, as I don't have access to a good tech!

I have an Epiphone G400 Faded ('16 or '17 model), and since my uncle's coming from the US of A in January, I'm thinking of getting some upgrades for it. Nothing too expensive, since I'm still a beginner ($150 hence, is a very optimistic budget).

I'm thinking of getting a strap for ~$35, and for the pickups, I'm looking to split them. Is this worthwhile? What other upgrades could I fit into my budget? No nut upgrades please, as I don't have access to a good tech!

Maybe invest in some cool pink strings or something

but I wouldn't get too hopped up on splitting those pickups unless they are 4 conductor wire type, it won't happen

Best upgrade is just clean it up real good, get the strap, and have some fresh strings on it and impress him with your chops.

I'm sure your ability will win him more than a few new parts on the guitar

which being as new as it is maybe it doesn't really need much.

Probably not what you wanted to hear but that's me

Best of luck!

Maybe invest in some cool pink strings or something

but I wouldn't get too hopped up on splitting those pickups unless they are 4 conductor wire type, it won't happen

Best upgrade is just clean it up real good, get the strap, and have some fresh strings on it and impress him with your chops.

I'm sure your ability will win him more than a few new parts on the guitar

which being as new as it is maybe it doesn't really need much.