Gibson Brands Forums

Info on DOT

Hello folks, newbie here. I received from a friend an Epiphone Dot. I'd like to learn more about this guitar. On the front of the headstock is Epiphone with a small plate with Gibson inscribed on it. Inside the body of the guitar I can see an orange oval stamp that notes the model as DOT, but where the S/N would be stamped is a sticker with what seems to be 192990 or 92990. The reason the numbers aren't exactly clear is the sticker has been blacked out, but I can still make out the numbers, except whether or not a 1 precedes the 92990. The serial number on the back on the headstock can't be read, the sticker is torn and faded out. This guitar is laminated maple. I can only play a few chords and it's clear I won't be the guitarist out front of a band, much less the guitarist with my buddies in the garage. But, it's still a great looking guitar. Thanks for any help.

Hello folks, newbie here. I received from a friend an Epiphone Dot. I'd like to learn more about this guitar. On the front of the headstock is Epiphone with a small plate with Gibson inscribed on it. Inside the body of the guitar I can see an orange oval stamp that notes the model as DOT, but where the S/N would be stamped is a sticker with what seems to be 192990 or 92990. The reason the numbers aren't exactly clear is the sticker has been blacked out, but I can still make out the numbers, except whether or not a 1 precedes the 92990. The serial number on the back on the headstock can't be read, the sticker is torn and faded out. This guitar is laminated maple. I can only play a few chords and it's clear I won't be the guitarist out front of a band, much less the guitarist with my buddies in the garage. But, it's still a great looking guitar. Thanks for any help.