Gibson Brands Forums

GC Gibsons

uncle fester

Hi folks,

I'm looking for opinions on Hummingbirds from GC from folks who have opinions on Gibsons.

I've got an old Guild D25 dreadnaught i've been playing for 18 yrs, finally need something w/ a cutout. I have an opportunity to drop about $3k and want to end up with something i love. i've played a bunch of different guitars (J45s, Martin D28s, D16, etc... ) and really like the hummingbirds from GC (mahogany body)... as a bonus i had never thought i'd be even able to consider one of these - and super psyched to be able to get one. unfortuntely, googling everything i can about them, have heard opinions (on this forum and elsewhere) - where the GC hummingbirds aren't real.

Dropping this type of coin i want to make sure i end up with something i love and am proud of, (not something that is beautiful - but there's a little something that taints it in my mind).

Any comments on Hummingbirds from GC, maybe a different model to try that would be considered more authentic and recommendations on where else maybe to look? ...or maybe i should just get over myself and be psyched with what i get... There's stuff on eBay - but i really want to be able to play first.

The only thing I’ve heard along the lines of not-true Hummingbirds were regarding the Hummingbird Pro that was made for Guitar Center. Here is a thread on the subject: http://forum.gibson.com/index.php?/topic/68098-gibson-hummingbird-vs-hummingbird-pro/

The HB Standard is the bird with the iconic look and sound. It would be a shame to compromise any part of that for a cutaway, imho. Interesting that you’ve made it 18 years playing and feel that you need a cutaway now; I spend a good deal of time playing a 12 fret guitar, and yes, it does require a little more arch of the left hand to play some shapes way up the neck, but it’s really not that big of a thing- I actually like the 12 frets for fingerstyle type stuff.