Gibson Brands Forums

1994 Gibson SG 3-way switch

Hello,

I've got an 1994 SG and the 3-way switch is a little lose, is there any way to tighten this up. I would like to keep as much original as I can. My next question would be who sells a good replacement if that's what it comes to. Also the pick-up (for the neck) is tilted down (toward the bridge pick-up) just a small amount, should/how do I fix this. I'm new to fixing or knowing what to fix on my guitars. Any help is much appreciated.

Alco Flower

post-88597-056050100 1513189742_thumb.jpg

I would take the switch out of the guitar (de-solder the wires from it) and inspect it very closely to see what parts of it are loose. The primary function is to make contact from the common pole to the switch positions - in your case 2 individual positions that can be contacted in 3 different ways. That being said, it should be easy enough to understand what has "failed" in the switch. I know it is not the same thing, but I can do this with any "Fender-type" 3/5-way switch. Even the Super switch is easy enough to see what is going on when you look close enough. Either way, this is the easiest way to see if you can understand what is going on internally.

If you want it to be somewhat original, get a Gibson switch. May cost more though, but it should most likely work for your guitar. There are plenty of replacements available though aside from the Gibson part. Just type in "Gibson toggle switch" when you do a Google Shopping search. And make sure you know what your switch looks like - what the part of the switch looks like that is in the control cavity of the guitar.