Gibson Brands Forums

Old guy has "new J-15

greywater

Hello all

I'm new to Gibson guitars and acoustics in general. I recently purchased a J15 through an internet auction and have questions/concerns about it. Maybe you can help.

The serial number is 11606030. I wrote Gibson's Customer Service regarding year of manufacture after failing to determine it myself. Gibson says it's a 2016 J15.

I believe 2016 J-15s have "2016" engraved on the truss rod cover and mine doesn't. The 2016 model appears to be lighter in color too.

I don't have the guitar yet but here are some pictures from the auction.

Should I be concerned ? Your thoughts are appreciated.

THX

Hi - this is one of those situations where I'm sure a lot would stand ready to reply, , , if we could see the pictures.

Be prepared for an avalanche of jokes - but don't take them in. With the exception of Murph, we are a harmless bunch willing and eager to help.

Do re-post the mentioned pics ^

Congrats on the J-15 .. They are wonderful guitars.

It's a 2016 - According to your serial number 11606030

Made on the 160th Day - Which I believe was June 8,

I wouldn't be worried about the Truss rod cover.

If it's used then you never know .. someone could have changed it out.

I believe 2016 J-15s have "2016" engraved on the truss rod cover....

Yeah, the 2016 could be there, it's just not real visible. If you look at the TRC in the wrong light, you can't see the 2016 at all. Is it definitely not there in the pics?

Or, as mentioned, they're easy to swap. No matter, though. Major congrats on your new J-15!

Oh, I see you just posted pics. I'm not sure if that's conclusive or not. eusa_think.gif

With the exception of Murph, we are a harmless bunch willing and eager to help.[/size][/font]

[biggrin]

<_<

He KNEW I'd find this thread because I just traded into a new J-15 myself.