Gibson Brands Forums

J15 bad action ?

greywater

I just received a used 2016 J15 and I'm disappointed with the action. I can't barre effectively as the middle D and G strings produce a "plunk" when barred. The four lower strings are wire wound. Is this a "normal" configuration for a J15 ? I've attached a photo of the guitar neck ( I hope.) The neck doesn't appear to be bowed.

I'm new to acoustics but I think there's a problem. Would smaller gauge strings help ?

post-89056-008405100 1513976430_thumb.jpg

Yes you can do this yourself if you understand what you are doing . The worst you can do is need to get another tusq saddle blank and start over. But if you have never done this a good tech can do a setup adjustment quite inexpensively. Lots of info online on the process. Make sure to keep the adjustments even , don’t drop the treble or bass side too much. Don’t do too much at one time.

I would suggest that you take the guitar to a good tech for a set-up. Shouldn't cost more than about $50-75 or so. he should check the action height, adjust the truss rod if required, and make sure the nut slots are properly cut. As a starting point, you should be using light gauge (12-53 or 12-54) strings.

Because you are not experienced with acoustics, you should let someone knowledgeable do the job for you the first time. The way the bridge pins on the low strings are popped up suggests that the strings may not be properly seated against the bridgeplate. Look inside the guitar with a mirror. The ball ends of all the strings should be snug against the underside of the bridgeplate. If they aren't, the guitar isn't properly strung for starters.

Players who are moving from electrics to acoustics for the first time may be surprised at the additional force necessary for barre chords on many acoustics. Acoustics generally use heavier-gauge strings with more tension, which may require extra effort when fretting.

You'll get used to it.