Gibson Brands Forums

I think I've Seen Bigfoot

Cabarone

A local shop recently got in an old Gibson 12 string. I told my wife, "That looks like a big-bottomed B25". Turns out it's a '61 B45...slope-shouldered! Never heard of such a thing...they said they were made before the Folk Boom and dreads took over. I couldn't stop staring at it...

Any experience w/these?

I'm no expert on the 12 strings but I know the early slope shouldered ones were held in high regard as to TONE. However they weren't built to hold the string tension and most died a violent death. Over the years they went to a square shoulder with a trapeze tailpiece and various designs of bridges. Not sure exactly when that was but I'd take a stab at around 63-64. I have owned a 1969 square shoulder B45 with a (twice broken) tailpiece for many years. The bail of the tailpiece has broken twice and each time, I cut the bails a little shorter and re-thread them. I'm running out of bail. It's a good guitar, not an earth shattering guitar. I think I paid $500 back in 2003 or 2004 and I'd have a hard time replacing it for twice that. I would be wildly open to finding an older example if it was structurally intact and I didn't have to sell a kidney. Not holding my breath for either.

Around 1970 they went to a 12 fret neck with a monstrous oversized pin bridge. Never had any experience with one of those. It's so far removed from what I imagine a B45 to be, I'm not tempted. Might be great guitars, who knows?

You probably should have bought it if it was in decent condition. This was the first iteration of the B45-12--1961 was the first year, I think--and a lot of folks think it's the best version. Not many have survived in good structural condition.

These are lightly built, and require light strings and tuning down, but they can have a clarity that is missing in the later square dread versions.

Did it have a pin bridge or a trapeze tail?