Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Stop tail adjustmenbt

Jeffytune

Guest Farnsbarns

If a string is putting X-lbf / Newtons of force on one spot - a bridge saddle, say - does the bridge have any less force on it than if the string touches at two points - a bridge saddle and the rear of the bridge, say?

I'm no engineer but I'd say Nope. The total amount of force is exactly the same; just spread between two separate points.

It might be argued that splitting the amount of force from one point to two lessens the likelihood of a collapsed bridge; standing on one leg on a set of scales and the one set has all body mass on it. Stand evenly on two sets and each will have a reading of half-body mass...

Pip.

It's about the resultant force. It's almost straight down if no strings touch the back of the bridge but diagonally forward and down if they do. The degree to which the rear point of contact affects the direction of the resultant force is dependant on the force at the point of contact (how hard it touches).

As I've said before, I do not think a Nashville bridge will ever collapse forward on those dirty-great coach bolts, and there's a lot of material so I don't think they'll ever sag either, not that that's relevent to the touching, not touching debate.

An ABR1, on the other hand, is on really quite thin studs and I think it could become an issue.

Well as I said before.. Im not that convinced that theres that much difference either way... Certainly not enough to worry about and I don't know that much about physics where I could prove it either way with numbers.. So for me its a choice of having the straight down pressure of the strings just touching the saddles or have pressure from that and the back of the bridge too. In which case as I said if anyone asked me id say to not have the strings touching the back.