Gibson Brands Forums

My Gibson J-45 Custom action is way too high

fumblefingers

I don't post here often, mostly read because I don't offer much insight being a self-taught hack who just loves the sound of the guitar, but I did post a thread 3 years ago when I became the proud owner of a brand new Gibson J-45. The problem I am having is that the action is so high it's always been difficult to play.

I do not know much about guitars and when I bought it new it was supposed to be set up correctly from the factory. One of the first players who saw and tried it said "wow, this action is pretty high, makes it tough to play." I kind of just thought that's how guitars are because my old guitar was even worse - an old junk Matao which was just awful.

Anyhow, I just measured at the 12th fret and the treble side is 7/64", and the bass side is 10/64" to give you an idea. The 1st fret bass side looks like about 4/64" and the treble side is north of 1/64" but my eyes have a hard time with that measurement.

When I look down the neck, it's bowed a slight bit, mostly on the low E side, though, as the high E looks straighter? I've been careful not to let the guitar dry out or anything, I keep it in the case, but I live in the PNW which is really humid this time of year anyhow.

To me, the saddle looks very high. Also, the nut could be an issue if it's not carved right, and given that it's high there I'm thinking I have more than one issue. I'm disappointed in myself for not understanding the guitar better before I bought it, but I also feel like Gibson did not set this guitar up right. Should I just find a Luthier at this point, or should I contact the company and have them handle it? I don't know any Luthiers and don't want somebody messing up my guitar. I keep it in mint condition.

Please advise, and thank you so much for reading.

PS- I will take some pictures tomorrow so you guys and gals can see. I measured with a 32nds rule and doubled it.