Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul studio

mkl

So I'm kind of new to this and I want to find out what I need to find the value of a Les Paul studio

mkl,

It's simple.

Post a photo of the guitar, and provide the serial number.

From that serial number we may divine the year of manufacture, and from the photo we can discern the model, and overall condition.

After that, a quick visit to the Blue Book of Guitar Valuations, tempered by some regional pricing on the internet, and bingo-bingo, you have a really good ballpark price for your used Les Paul Studio.

Can you describe in general terms where you live?

THat'll help with the regional pricing trends.

:)

Okay, enough with the funny answer...

Just like with diamonds, Guitars have the four C's,

Condition

Corrosion

Color

Case.

You need to look at the condition and if there is corrosion to deal with, this includes scratchy pot and poor electrical components.

Then there is what color is it? Rare colors could be worth more, or they could be rare because there ugly. A flametop is worth more then a say a black one.

Gold or black hardware is worth a bit more then chrome per say.

Then there is case, does it have a case? No case, well a used case could run 100-200 bucks, and new one up to 300.

All of this effects the price, and without being able to really put our hands on it, it is very hard to come to a price on it.

It would be my first Gibson and I'm a beginner so I don't want to over pay when I could use the money for a better one. It does have a hard case and it's going to be at an auction so not sure if I'll get to hear it. #002380674

post-89643-086820700 1516881690_thumb.jpg

post-89643-058456200 1516881917_thumb.jpg

Thanks

Be careful...

Some people will try to up the price and hype it up, because they are selling a "Gibson". We can spot these a mile away, but a novice buyer, maybe not.