Gibson Brands Forums

R7 - Wired ABR1 Bridge?

Watersilk

Some time ago I changed the Gibson ABR1 bridge in my R7 to a Callaham machined steel bridge. Today, I was just looking at the original bridge that came with the guitar and I was surprised to find that it's a wired version.

8mz8Kj8.jpg

M6AePcQ.jpg

The model is a 2007 R7 VOS, which I bought secondhand.

Can someone tell me if a wired ABR1 would have been fitted as original specification to this guitar at the factory when it was new?

Also, would a wired ABR1' have been fitted as original hardware to Goldtop's by Gibson in 1957?

Finally, is there a difference in 'performance' between wired and non wired ABR1 bridges?

I am not an expert on original or historic re-issues of '57s. But a little internet searching resulted in the following:

No wire from 1954 - 1962

Wire from 1962 - 1975

Nashville bridge from 1975 on. But of course there are models still made with ABR-1 bridges and not the Nashville wider style.

But based on that it seems strange that yours had a wired bridge.

Perhaps others that own them and know more about them can shed some light on the subject.

I am not an expert on original or historic re-issues of '57s. But a little internet searching resulted in the following:

No wire from 1954 - 1962

Wire from 1962 - 1975

Nashville bridge from 1975 on. But of course there are models still made with ABR-1 bridges and not the Nashville wider style.

You ask about the difference between them - the wire was there to hold the saddles and screws into the bridge when changing strings or taking the bridge off. The more modern ABR-1s without the wire have a little clip that keeps the screw and the saddle in the bridge even if there are no strings holding them down.

Perhaps others that own R7s and know more about them can shed some light on the subject.