Gibson Brands Forums: Les Paul High Performance Love Thread - Gibson Brands Forums

• (5 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Les Paul High Performance Love Thread

#41 User is offline   rct 

• Advanced Member
  • Group: All Access
  • LocationSouthern New Jersey

Posted 28 March 2018 - 06:50 AM

View PostSabredog, on 27 March 2018 - 08:37 PM, said:

70s 80s classic rock,
Santana Arrowsmith Pink Floyd Led Zeppelin guns and roses cream Hendrix Van Halen, ozzy .......... on and on and on. any song that sounds good, black keys. white stripes.

Ok so same stuff I do.

I've been using Les Pauls since 1975 I got my first second hand third rate Custom. I grew up playing that music and still do. I've used Les Pauls through each decade and iteration of Les Paul. My Classic is 18 this year, it's pretty well traveled but in great shape.

If you, or anyone you know, is having trouble with pull offs and use of the high E because of binding over frets or the standard LP neck width, you or someone you know needs to practice. No guitar player should, in my experience, have issue with binding over frets or the standard string spacing of the pre-Pontiac Wide Track neck width.

All of our favorite records were done with binding over frets, standard LP width/string spacing necks. Them guys had no problems, I learned a lot from them guys and I had and have no problems, you shouldn't either.

I'm not hollering at you or scolding. I'm telling you that the frets over binding was cost cutting and the wide neck thing was a solution to a problem that didn't exist for guitar players.

Rock on. Get some GFR in that setlist bro.

rct

#42 User is offline   Pin 

• Thread Killer
  • LocationSouthend, Essex

Posted 28 March 2018 - 07:40 AM

View PostSabredog, on 27 March 2018 - 10:24 PM, said:

that's a reasonable explanation. feel as you said is subjective, but certainly important, so that design probably does have a very nice feel to your style,