Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul High Performance Love Thread

Sabredog

You shouldn't have to but a lot of people simply replace the nut with better string spacing.

I currently have 4 Gibson electrics and they all came with the proper spacing but the first time I played that SG it was a WTF moment.

I think it was a 2007 SG Classic which went back to eBay where it came from.

About the E falling off the neck.

I've always had a problem with this. Should I practice more? Maybe, but I've been playing for 48 years. I play every day and I put in at least an hour; often much more.

Whether I am just a poor player or not, I have never stopped or thought about giving up. The best improvement on this problem was getting rid of the Strat (standard 70s USA model). I used it exclusively for nearly 25 years because I loved the sound. It handled like a pig.

All my other guitars are better at handling the problem.

Rarely happens anymore, but it does once in a while. Yes, live too [blush]

Partly for this reason, I would never use a guitar that was too rounded at the edges. Nor one with nibs.

About the E falling off the neck.

I've always had a problem with this.

Partly for this reason, I would never use a guitar that was too rounded at the edges. Nor one with nibs.

Maybe (partly) explains why I like nibs so much. I can honestly say that this just doesn't ever happen with me (no matter what guitar it is).

I wasn't going to say anything else here but...

I don't really care much about anyone's playing style or skill at all. I mean, I do hope everyone plays well of course, but everyone's different and we all enjoy (hopefully) playing what and how we play it.