Gibson Brands Forums

Rolling Stone Part One

BluesKing777

BK really nice - it's all good, but you've got a couple runs in there that are just awesome (about a min in and then at the end)!

I do feel bad for you though having talent like that, but having to play such an old guitar. I'm a newbie so it doesn't matter to me, so if you want to swap a nice new J45 for that old thing... well - I'll figure out shipping ; )

Anyways good stuff.

Thanks!

Hey, I had a look in the garage near the redback spider colony and there are 2 spraycans, one matt black and the other....purple metallic speckle.....

What do you think? Spruce up the old thing?

Or concentrate on recording Rolling Stone Parts 2 - 25? [unsure]

BluesKing777.

Hey BK - listening through this a couple more times, seeing what i can take away... and all i got is more questions. Is this one pass through or did you record several tracks. Is it finger style, strumming, a mix? If I had to guess it would be 2 tracks, one finger style, one strumming, and then a third vocal - but really no idea.

...and what's the new friend this guy will be getting?

and again - really nice stuff!

Hey BK - listening through this a couple more times, seeing what i can take away... and all i got is more questions. Is this one pass through or did you record several tracks. Is it finger style, strumming, a mix? If I had to guess it would be 2 tracks, one finger style, one strumming, and then a third vocal - but really no idea.

...and what's the new friend this guy will be getting?

and again - really nice stuff!

Thanks Billroy!

I always record ‘live’ - one mic. I placed my Neumann KM184 for the vocal and then lower it to the guitar a bit so I get both at once in a nice mix. The reverb is off my mixer.