Gibson Brands Forums

How to Build a soundproof booth out of blankets?

andrey20

Hello,

I am an artist and I record voice overs for Covoco for a story naration. I'm after some tips on the best way to record a clean voice over without the use of a recording booth.

I have a decent mic (Rode NTG-3) which records great audio. So I'm looking for tips on ways to isolate exterior sound.

Record in a cupboard? Build a soundproof booth out of blankets? Record under the house?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you.

Hello,

I am an artist and I record voice overs for Covoco for a story naration. I'm after some tips on the best way to record a clean voice over without the use of a recording booth.

I have a decent mic (Rode NTG-3) which records great audio. So I'm looking for tips on ways to isolate exterior sound.

Record in a cupboard? Build a soundproof booth out of blankets? Record under the house?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you.

Unless you have it done professionally, no DIY sound treatment will ever be truly 'soundproof'. All you can do is try and mitigate external sound as best you can.

As the world's worst singer, I am paranoid about my neighbors hearing me caterwauling, so for recording vocals (It's amazing the amount of fixing you can do in Celemony Melodyne) I had both problems - I didn't want exterior sound coming in, but neither did I want my racket escaping.

I have tried a bunch of solutions over the years and, in my experience, recording in a cupboard or building a DIY 'booth' produced 'boxy' sounding recordings. After a LOT of trial and error, I found that the best results came from using a room around 9 feet square and hanging as many layers of lightwight bedspreads, lightweight duvets and other materials as possible around the room as I could - the air between the layers of course acting as a noise insulator as well.